Tasty Tuesday @ Whoopie Pie Place – Homemade Cleaners, Play Dough & Silly Putty

I’m a little behind on posting the Tasty Tuesday links here to my blog.  For good reasons though – we spent a long Labor Day weekend camping in Amish Country and then headed to Bethany Beach for a week.  It was really nice to get away and just relax.  Hubby and I had our whack-a-mole game competition, and he was victorious again this time on the boardwalk.  I was the reigning champ last year, but alas, he has beat me twice now and proudly tells anyone who will listen and shows off his stuffed Tweety bird prize to anyone he can.  My momma got the call from him as soon as he won.  🙂  But for revenge, I beat him two sets in tennis playing on the clay courts at Sea Colony, so that felt pretty good.

sea colony-1

sea colony-2

Here are a couple of pictures from the beach.  I enjoyed reading my ARC copy of Amy Clipston’s “The Forgotten Recipe” while sitting on the beach and nibbling on Fisher’s popcorn.  Her new book will be available on 12/08/15, but you can pre-order it right now on Amazon.  Hubby enjoyed the warm water and took quite a lengthy swim.  I enjoyed people watching too.  That is always entertaining to say the least.

beach-2

beach-1

Instead of baking or cooking for the last two Tasty Tuesdays, I went with more conventional things to make that you can use in your home.  Check out how to make your own laundry detergent and window cleaner from Tuesday, 09/08.  I know I can get all the ingredients for the laundry detergent at one of the Amish owned bulk food stores in Lancaster County, so I am going to give this a try.  Here’s the link for that post:

http://whoopiepieplace.com/2015/09/tasty-tuesday-homemade-cleaners/

Then this week’s post was for homemade play dough and silly putty.  With kids going back to school, I figured these would be something to keep them occupied when they say “I’m bored” about a hundred times a week.  What kid doesn’t like to play with play dough or silly putty, right?  I know I sure did.  And with the play dough having only edible ingredients in it, there is no harm if your child accidentally takes a nibble.  Here’s the link for those two recipes:

http://whoopiepieplace.com/2015/09/tasty-tuesday-play-dough/

Hope you enjoy this week’s post.  Let me know if you try out any of the recipes featured in these two links or any of the other blog posts that I’ve posted.

Have a great week!

Blessings…

Leave a Reply

