The Forgotten Recipe by Amy Clipston

I sure hope I get better at this in 2016.  I waited to do my review after meeting Amy Clipston at her Christmas Tea held at the Guardian Angel Book Store in Richfield, PA the second Saturday in December.  Well, as you can see, I really waited to do it.  After spending the weekend up in Amish Country with my friend Myrtle for the tea with Amy and her mom (and I was fortunate to meet a couple other Facebook friends too – Hi Christa and Mary Ellen) and having dinner with some sweet Amish friends, I came home and jumped into the hustle and bustle of Christmas with baking, wrapping, and card making.  So Amy, I apologize that I am now just getting around to posting this review.

I so enjoyed meeting Amy and her mom at the tea and fellowshipping over a delicious dinner that evening.  I felt like Amy and I have known each other forever.  She is so easy to talk to and enjoyable to listen to.   Here are a few pictures from the tea.

 

 

In The Forgotten Recipe, the first book in An Amish Heirloom series by Amy Clipston, Veronica Fisher and Seth Lapp are in love and engaged to be married until tragedy strikes.  To help move through her grief, Veronica dives into doing chore after chore to keep herself busy.  While in the attic, she discovers a forgotten recipe for her Mammi’s raspberry pie.  Baking and selling these raspberry pies leads Veronica to fall in love again.  But will that love be crushed due to a secret being held?

Amy Clipston knows how to transfer her readers into her books right away.  I felt like I was actually sitting in a corner ease-dropping as the story goes along instead of at home flipping through the pages.  This book is a sweet read and will have you smiling, laughing, and crying along with the characters as they experience love, grief, hope, and forgiveness.  You will definitely feel all of this along with them.

And there was one part in this story where happy memories of my grandfather surfaced, but I don’t want to give too much of the story away.  I’ll just say my grandfather was a pro at skipping stones, and I stunk at learning.  I loved Veronica finding the recipes in the attic, because I would have done the same as her and given them a try, since I love to cook and bake.

This is another excellent story by Amy Clipston, and I am looking forward to the second book in this series, The Courtship Basket.  Pre-orders will start on 04/20/16 and the book will be available on 07/19/16 per Amazon.

If you haven’t read The Forgotten Recipe, get your copy today.  You definitely will not be disappointed.

I am looking forward to another fun year as being part of Amy’s Bakery Bunch – Master Bakers.  And I sure hope we can meet again up in Amish Country later this year.

 

Leave a Reply

