Tasty Tuesday @ Whoopie Pie Place – Harvard Beets

One vegetable that I will not eat is beets.  I don’t like them in any form – pickled, harvard, cooked…yuck!  But my hubby loves beets and enjoys the harvard beets he gets up in Amish Country.  So I figured there had to be a recipe for them in one of my Amish cookbooks, and I found one.  He enjoys beets except for the pickled ones.  You mention pickled beets, and he puckers up his lips as in being tart.

Here’s the link to this week’s Tasty Tuesday recipe…

 

Edited 06/17/16:  For some reason the link isn’t working, so here is the blog post from Tasty Tuesday with the recipe…thanks for letting me know Mom!

“This week’s recipe is for something I do not like at all – beets! But since my hubby does, I fix them on occasion. He really enjoys harvard beets that you can get up in Amish Country at various restaurants. So I figured there must be a recipe in one of the Amish cookbooks I have…and yes, I found one…

The recipe for harvard beets comes from the Amish Country Cookbook, Volume I – favorite recipes gathered by Das Dutchman Essenhaus. It’s an older cookbook in my collection and can most likely be found on Ebay.

 

beets-1

Harvard Beets, Sue Miller (Manager)

Amish Country Cookbook, Volume I, page 98

1 qt. cooked cubed red beets

Drain and heat, then add:

1/4 c. sugar

2 1/2 T. vinegar

Thicken with 1 T. cornstarch mixed with a little cold water. Add beets and heat all together.

beets-2

Hubby said they were okay, but not as good as the ones he gets either at Bird-in-Hand Restaurant or Quarryville Family Restaurant. That is fine by me – one less thing I have to fix that I don’t like. I heated up a quart of the green beans I canned last summer for me to enjoy, and I shared some with him too. We also had some fresh corn on the cob which was good. I’m looking forward to all the fresh produce I can pick up at the little Amish owned stands on the backroads this summer.

Just a reminder that you have until this Friday to enter last week’s Tasty Tuesday contest do-over. Check out last week’s post for more details. Winner will be drawn this Friday and announced in next week’s post.

Have a great week and stay cool…this past weekend was hot and humid here in Baltimore.

Blessings… Cindy”

 

Of course, they were not as good as the ones he gets up in Lancaster County, but he finished them up.  They didn’t taste bad at all he said – just not like he is used to.

With this weekend being Father’s Day, I want to take a minute to wish my dad a very Happy Father’s Day.  I’ll be seeing him on Saturday and Sunday, so fair warning Dad.  🙂

DSCF5237

 

Here’s a picture of us at the Masters practice rounds back in April before the crowds descended upon the course.

Hope you all have a great weekend!

Blessings…

Leave a Reply

