Tasty Tuesday – Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Going through some of the pictures on my phone, I realized I never shared the recipe for these yummy oatmeal raisin cookies. They were so soft and chewy and got several thumbs up at the office.  This was my first recipe to try out of my new Busy Mother’s Cookbook.  I bought my copy at Gordonville Book Store and have seen it for sale in several other places in Lancaster County.  I had to get this cookbook, since I know part of the Amish family who put it together.  And it is a very popular cookbook used by the Amish themselves.

Here is the recipe if you’d like to fix a batch to enjoy…

oatmeal-1

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies, Sarah, Busy Mother’s Cookbook, page 166

2 c. butter blend

2 c. brown sugar

2 c. white sugar

4 eggs

4 tsp. vanilla

5 c. flour

2 tsp. baking powder

2 tsp. soda

2 tsp. salt

4 c. oats

4 c. raisins

Cream together butter and sugars. Add eggs and vanilla; mix well and add rest of ingredients.

You gotta love a recipe that doesn’t tell you what temperature to set the oven at or the length of time to bake. I baked them at 350 degrees for about 10 minutes.  I set the timer on 8 minutes, but they weren’t done yet, so added minute intervals until they were baked fully.  Since all ovens are different, make sure you check them frequently while baking.  I don’t want you to burn them.

I cut this recipe down, since I didn’t want an abundance of cookies for the office. It would be a great recipe though for a cookie exchange.

Soft and chewy goodness!

oatmeal-2

This is another spiral bound cookbook with 244 pages of recipes, tips, and quotes.

I think everyone is under this heat wave right now across the country. It is brutal outside with the heat and humidity.  Stay cool, hydrated, and safe if you work outside or are out for an extended period of time.  And wear lots of sunblock, so you don’t look like a lobster.

Blessings…

One thought on “Tasty Tuesday – Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Leave a Reply

