Tasty Tuesday – Zucchini-Chocolate Cake

As promised, this week’s Tasty Tuesday is for a recipe that contains zucchini.  I chose the zucchini-chocolate cake recipe out of the Tasty Traditions, Huber Family Favorites cookbook, and I am so glad I did.  The guys at work were very glad too.  The one guy yelled from upstairs that he gives this cake a 5 thumbs up which made me giggle.  He kept raving about it especially with the homemade cream cheese icing.  That did add a pow to the cake, I have to admit.  Another guy said not to lose the recipe.  So for this week, you get two recipes – one for the cake and one for the icing, both out of the same cookbook.

zuke-1wmk

It’s all thanks to this monster zucchini that I had some to use.  Once shredded, it filled a very large bowl, so you’ll be seeing some more zucchini recipes in the future.

zuke-2wmk

Here is the recipe for the cake…

Zucchini-Chocolate Cake, Delores Hurst

Tasty Traditions, Huber Family Favorites, page 268

2 c. sugar

1 c. oil

3 eggs

2 1/2 c. flour

1/4 c. cocoa

1 tsp. baking soda

1/4 tsp. baking powder

1/4 tsp. salt

1/2 c. milk

1 T. vanilla

2 c. shredded zucchini

Add flour, cocoa, baking soda, baking powder and salt alternately with milk.  Bake at 375 degrees for 25 minutes.  Once cooled, spread with chocolate frosting.

As you can see, the directions are misleading.  What I did was mixed all the dry ingredients together and then added the wet ingredients and mixed it up well.  Then I stirred in the zucchini and poured the batter into a 9×13 dish.  It was not done at the 25 minute mark, so I gave it another 5 minutes, and it was perfect.  I also didn’t want chocolate frosting on a chocolate cake, so I whipped up a batch of cream cheese icing.  That recipe is below…

Cream Cheese Icing, Eunice Martin, page 289

1/2 stick margarine or butter

4 oz. cream cheese

1 tsp. hot water

1 tsp. vanilla

2 c. 10X sugar

Good on carrot and pumpkin cakes.

That was the directions after the ingredients which made me giggle.  I made sure my butter and cream cheese were softened and then whipped all the ingredients together with my mixer until smooth.

zuke-3wmk

It is really a delicious cake.  If you have some shredded zucchini to use, I (as well as my guys at work) highly recommend making this cake.

zuke-4wmkThis was my breakfast this morning.  It has eggs and milk, so doesn’t that count as breakfast food???

Hope you have a great week!

Blessings…

One thought on “Tasty Tuesday – Zucchini-Chocolate Cake

Leave a Reply

