Tasty Tuesday – Zucchini Bread

Happy first Tuesday in September!  Hope you all had a nice relaxing Labor Day weekend.  We sure did.  We camped up in Amish Country, and the weather was absolutely perfect.  Saturday, I spent an Amish sisters’ day with my sweet friend, Barbara.  We stuffed 450 kits for the upcoming Buggies and Buds Shop Hop that starts on September 28, and we designed two cards for her card class this Saturday.  My hubby and her brother spent the morning at the Hospice Auction and brought us some yummy lunch and dessert back.  A beautiful looking apple pie and a six pack of whoopie pies along with pork BBQ sandwiches and macaroni salad.  Such a wonderful day being with such good friends.  Hubby and I even went to see the camels while up there.  They were in the left field this time a little distance away.

This week’s recipe again comes from the Amish Country Cookbook, Volume I, favorite recipes gathered by Das Dutchman Essenhaus.  When I made the chocolate zucchini cake, I also made nine loaves of zucchini bread (which I completely forgot to take a picture of…I remembered when there was only a one inch piece left at work).  But since I had taken pictures of zucchini bread before, I just used one of those pictures.  It all looked the same anyway and disappeared just as fast.  I made one batch of bread from the recipe below and the other loaves I used my crushed pineapple recipe.

zuke bread

If you have an abundance of zucchini, here’s a recipe to try…

Zucchini Bread, page 10, Elsie Miller (Grill Cook)

2 c. sugar, granulated

1 c. salad oil

3 eggs

Stir really well, then sift together:

3 c. flour

1/4 t. baking powder

1 t. each of soda, salt, and cinnamon

Stir in with the first mixture.

Add:

2 c. grated raw zucchini

1 c. nuts

Put in two bread pans (greased).  Bake in 350 degree oven for 40 minutes.

This is the usual recipe you will find the Amish bake and sell at their stands.  In my opinion, this bread was dry; good, but drier than what I usually make.  That is why I like to make the crushed pineapple version.  The pineapple makes the bread moist.  In the above recipe, I also eliminated the nuts.  You can substitute a cup of chocolate chips for the nuts or add them along with the nuts.

amish country cookbook-1

Since this is an older cookbook, you are more likely to find a used copy on EBay or Amazon.

Hope you enjoy your first week of September.

Blessings…

 

 

Leave a Reply

