Tasty Tuesday – Homemade Brownies

Welcome to this week’s Tasty Tuesday post.  I wanted something chocolate this week and picked a recipe from a new cookbook I got up in Amish Country called “The Byler Chicks Cooking”.  I got my copy at Belmont Fabrics on Belmont Road in Lancaster County.  It is an Amish owned fabric shop that carries a nice selection of cookbooks, note cards, fabric, notions, and a bunch of other things.  A neat little place to check out if you are in the area.

This week’s recipe is called “Homemade Brownies”.  Perfect batch for the guys at work.

brownies-2

Homemade Brownies, Mrs. Eli (Edna) Petersheim, page 126

2 c. sugar

1 c. margaraine, melted

4 eggs

1 tsp. vanilla

1 1/2 c. flour

1 tsp. baking powder

1/2 c. cocoa

1/8 tsp. salt

Combine sugar, margarine, eggs, and vanilla.  Beat well; then add flour, baking powder, cocoa, and salt.  Pour into a greased 9″x13″ pan and bake at 325 degrees until done.  Sprinkle with powdered sugar.

brownies-3

These definitely hit the spot.  The pan full didn’t last long in the office.  Instead of using margarine, I used butter.  And I added about 3/4 cup of mini Reese’s pieces and 3/4 cup of chocolate chips to my batter.  Since I added those, I didn’t top them with powdered sugar.  Figured they’d be sweet enough.  I found it odd though that the Reese’s pieces lost their hard candy colored shell while baking.  I have never had that happen before.  I thought they’d add some fall color to the brownies, but all I saw were little peanut butter drops.  They still tasted really good though without the pretty color, and I am sure the color wouldn’t have mattered to my guys in the office anyway.

brownies-1

This is a cute little cookbook.  The cover is what caught my eye.  There are 229 pages full of recipes covering appetizers, dips, beverages, breakfast, breads & rolls, soups, vegetables, salads & dressings, meats, main dishes, desserts, cookies & bars, cakes & frostings, pies, candies & snacks, miscellaneous, and tips & hints.  Some recipes I haven’t seen in other cookbooks before either.

Hope you are enjoying your first week of fall.  I know I am.  It’s my favorite time of year.

Blessings…

 

3 thoughts on “Tasty Tuesday – Homemade Brownies

Leave a Reply

