Tasty Tuesday – Pumpkin Bread

Welcome to this week’s Tasty Tuesday post a day late.  Seems like I’ve been running behind for the past few weeks.  Just spent three weekends in Amish Country, and not being home much is getting to me.  This weekend, I’ll get to sleep in my own bed.  No hotel or B&B reservations this weekend.  Yay!  It’s nice being away, but there is something about being home too.  Still have stuff to unpack from my trips especially the goodies I picked up during the Buggies and Buds Shop Hop event this year.  Mom and I had a great time visiting the different participating locations and got some new stamping goodies to play with.  Now to find time to make some cards.

Now onto this week’s recipe…I chose pumpkin bread, since I saw lots and lots of pumpkins for sale up in Amish Country and bought quite a few to decorate our front porch.  So many different shapes and colors…orange, green, bumpy, smooth…they had all kinds.

This week’s recipe comes out of the Amish Country Cookbook, Volume I, favorite recipes gathered by Das Dutchman Essenhaus.  This cookbook contains five different recipes for pumpkin bread, so here is the one I chose to fix.

pumpkin-bread-2

Pumpkin Bread, Mary Troyer (Dishwasher), page 7

3 c. sugar

1 c. oil

4 eggs

1 t. salt

1 T. nutmeg

1 T. cinnamon

2/3 c. cold water

2 c. pumpkin

3 1/2 c. flour

2 t. soda

Grease and flour 3 bread pans.  Bake in 350 degree oven for 1 hour.

Obviously, the recipe is missing the mixing directions, but I’m sure you guys figured out to mix it all together first.  Ha ha!  If you have the pumpkin pie spice mix that they make on hand, you could probably use that instead of the individual spices I would think.  For the pumpkin, I used a can of Libby’s pumpkin.

I can’t say how this bread tastes, since I hung one loaf on our neighbor’s door this morning, hubby has one loaf to take to his mom, and the third loaf I have to drop off at my parents’ house.  (Mom, act surprised when I hand it to you later today)  So hopefully next week, I can post what they thought about it.  Sure hope it tastes good!  My neighbor’s loaf was already bagged up – that’s why only two are in the picture.

pumpkin-bread-1

I picked up a few things in Amish Country last weekend for a fall giveaway which I’ll have in next week’s post, so make sure you come back next week for that.

Have a great week and enjoy fall!  I am loving these cooler temperatures and the leaves starting to change.

Blessings…

Leave a Reply

