Tasty Tuesday – Ham Loaf

As promised, this week’s Tasty Tuesday is for something besides a dessert.  I do have two desserts to post in the upcoming weeks that I made for Thanksgiving dessert, but wanted to share this recipe and meal I fixed Sunday night for dinner.  It is one of my favorites to order when we go to Amish Country too, whether in loaf form or ham balls.  It would be great for leftover ham after Christmas if you have a way to grind up the ham.  I have an adapter for my Kitchen Aid mixer that grinds up meat and works pretty well.

For my ground ham, I bought it already ground up at Stoltzfus Meats in Intercourse, PA.  They have ham loaf mix frozen and ready in one of their cases.  I have also gone to grocery stores up there and had the meat guy grind up some ham for me too.  And if you don’t want to fix your own ham loaf, you can buy pre-made frozen loaves to cook at home.

This week’s recipe comes out of my sweet Amish friend’s, Katie Fisher, cookbook called Katie’s Kitchen.  My cookbook has so many stains and such in it from many years of use.  I’ve had this cookbook for 15 years.

ham-1

Ham Loaf, Katie’s Kitchen, page 27

2 lbs. ground ham

1 cup bread crumbs

2 eggs

3/4 to 1 cup milk

Salt & pepper to taste

Mix all the ingredients.  Shape in a loaf and place in a roasting pan.  Bake at 350 degrees for about 1 1/2 hours.

3/4 cup brown sugar

1 tsp. dry mustard

1/2 cup water

1/2 cup vinegar

Mix and bring to a boil before pouring over ham loaf.  Serves 8.

ham-2

This ham loaf is so moist and delicious.  One thing to note since the recipe can be confusing – pour the vinegar/sugar mixture over the ham loaf before baking it.  You can see in my above picture all the liquid.  Some of it gets sucked up by the ham loaf while baking.  I usually put crushed pineapple on  my ham loaf about 15-20 minutes before the ham loaf is finished.  I know some people enjoy gravy on their ham loaf.  I do not – I love the sweet taste of the pineapple and  always order it that way when we are out and about in Amish Country.  Some restaurants serve it with a fruit sauce as well.  It’s just based on your taste.

I served our meal with some green beans and homemade apple sauce.  Since it makes a large loaf, we have enough to eat it again for dinner one night this week.  It is an easy meal to fix and was perfect to have baking while we decorated our Christmas tree on Sunday.

ham-3

Hope you had a blessed Thanksgiving.  We had a delicious meal at my parents’ house and then went to Sight and Sound on Black Friday to see Samson.  It was an excellent show like all of their shows are.  We have never been disappointed.

Have a great week as we welcome in December on Thursday.  Where has this year gone?

Blessings…

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Tasty Tuesday – Ham Loaf

  1. I make ham loaf in a very similar manner. I use corn flake crumbs instead of bread crumbs. I use evaporated milk instead of regular and add a dash of ground cloves. A wee bit goes a long way as it is a powerful spice. I agree with you-gravy is not for ham loaf.

    Like

  2. Is the recipe from the Katie’s Kitchen near (Strasburg /Ronks area)? I love to eat there! I love the simplicity of this recipe. I plan to try it over Christmas with the leftover ham-what a treat! Thanks so much for sharing this!

    Like

Leave a Reply

