Tasty Tuesday – Pumpkin Pie

Happy Tuesday!  This week’s Tasty Tuesday is all about pumpkin pie.  I’m a Libby’s pumpkin pie girl…always follow the recipe on the can.  While looking through a couple of my Amish cookbooks for pumpkin pie recipes, I decided their pumpkin pies are a little too much work for this gal having to separate the eggs and such.  I’ve never seen a pumpkin pie recipe like the ones I found.  For Thanksgiving, I fixed my Libby’s pie which is pictured in this blog post.  With fixing three different desserts, the Amish pumpkin pie recipe was more involved than a regular pumpkin pie.

p-pie-1

I wanted to share with you two of the Amish pumpkin pie recipes that I found.  Do any of you fix pumpkin pie this way?  I had never heard of separating the eggs for a pumpkin pie.  Curious to see if others fix it this way…

Pumpkin Pie, The Byler Chicks Cooking, Mrs. Melvin (Susie) Byler, page 170

2 eggs

4 eggs, separated

1 c. brown sugar

2 c. pumpkin

3 Tbsp. flour, heaping

1/2 tsp. salt

1/2 c. sugar

1 tsp. pumpkin pie spice

1 qt. milk

Beat 4 egg whites till stiff.  Mix everything together but milk; then add mix and egg whites last.  Enough for 3 pies.

Pumpkin Pie, The Busy Mother’s Cookbook, Susie, page 201

1 c. brown sugar

1 c. white sugar

4 Tbsp. flour

4 eggs, separated

1 c. pumpkin

1 tsp. cinnamon

1 tsp. nutmeg, optional

pinch of salt

5 c. milk

Mix sugars, flour, egg yolks, pumpkin, cinnamon, nutmeg and salt.  Add milk.  Beat egg whites and fold in last.  Makes two 9″ pies.

So, do any of you fix your pumpkin pies in this fashion?  Both recipes above are similar, but yet different with the sugars and spices.  I know the pumpkin pie I’ve eaten from Amish bake stands is a lighter color than what mine usually is.  I wonder if that is from using the egg whites.  The flavor is different too.  And I found it funny that neither recipe told you what temperature to bake the pies or for how long.

Here’s a picture of our Thanksgiving desserts…the Apple Goodie posted last week, pumpkin pie, Swedish pound cake, and snickerdoodles that Mom fixed.  We were definitely stuffed like a turkey after a delicious meal and all of these yummy desserts.

desserts-turkey-day

Now to figure out what to fix for Christmas dessert…I know Dad will want a pumpkin pie – that is a given.  Have to keep my Daddy’s belly happy.

Hope you have a great week with your final preparations for Christmas.  It’s quickly approaching.

Blessings…

Leave a Reply

