Tasty Tuesday – Baked Macaroni & Cheese

Welcome to the third Tuesday in January.  This week’s Tasty Tuesday post isn’t something sweet.  Can you believe that?  I have always fixed my Nan-Nan’s homemade macaroni and cheese and never ventured into making any others until I saw this week’s recipe in the Seasonal Garden Cooking and Family Favorites cookbook.  It is a totally different recipe than my Nan-Nan’s.  Instead of layering the macaroni, then the cheese and spices, and then butter several times in a baking dish, this recipe has you whisking up all the cheese, butter, spices, and milk and then mixing the macaroni in with that and pouring it into the baking dish.  It sounded really good, so I decided to give it a try for our lunch on Sunday.

mc-1Here’s the recipe if you’d like to give it a try.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese, Lillian, page 224

1 1/2 c. uncooked macaroni

2 Tbsp. butter

1 c. milk

1 can cream of chicken soup

1 c. shredded cheddar cheese

4 slices Swiss American cheese

1/2 tsp. salt

1/4 tsp. pepper

Topping:

2 Tbsp. butter, melted

1/4 c. bread crumbs

Cook macaroni and drain.  In saucepan, melt butter; add milk, soup, cheese and seasonings.  Stir with wire whisk.  Add macaroni and mix well.  Place all in buttered casserole and add topping.  Bake 30 minutes at 350 degrees.

mc-3

I doubled this recipe and baked it in a 9×13 dish sprayed with Pam.  I wasn’t sure how much the original recipe would make, but it didn’t sound like enough for leftovers for a couple lunches this week with just 1 1/2 cups of macaroni.  Since the doubled recipe fit well in the 9×13 dish, the original recipe would probably just fill an 8×8 dish.  After doubling the topping recipe and adding it on top of the macaroni and cheese, I made up a little more, since what I had fixed hardly covered the top of the dish.  It smelled wonderful baking.  I also used baby Swiss cheese slices and just tore them into pieces before adding into the saucepan.

This recipe is so delicious.  My husband’s comment was “Pur’ dang good”, and he had seconds on Sunday and took a helping for Monday’s lunch too.  I liked the addition of the bread crumb topping.  My Nan-Nan’s recipe does not have that.  I would definitely fix this recipe again.

How do you like the Amish looking plates?  They are new by Corelle and resemble the vintage butterprint pattern that Pyrex  used to have.  I saw these plates and got them for myself as a Christmas present to go with my Nan-Nan’s butterprint bowls I have.

mc-2This cookbook can be purchased in several locations throughout Lancaster County’s Amish Country.  Gordonville Book Store, Bird-in-Hand Bake Shop, and the Goods Store to name a few places.

And I want to thank my friend Barb for trying out my Snickerdoodles recipe last week and saying they were a huge hit.  Yay!  It’s nice to know that someone besides my momma tries out these recipes that I share.  LOL  Anyone else ever try one of the recipes from Tasty Tuesday? I know Patti has made the ham loaf and enjoyed it.  I would love to hear your feedback.

Hope you have a great week.

Blessings…

3 thoughts on “Tasty Tuesday – Baked Macaroni & Cheese

  1. Love the plates! I bought the bowls, plates are next on my list. I’m going to make the mac and cheese for Nate sometime. He is passionate about his mac and cheese!

    Like

Leave a Reply

