Tasty Tuesday – Melt in your Mouth Chocolate Chip Cookies

Can you believe that today is the last Tuesday in January?  Where did this first month of the year go?  Today, I am sharing another cookie recipe that I made for the holidays.  Hopefully you aren’t sick of cookie recipes, because next week I’ll have the last one.  Cookies are good any time of year, not just for the holidays.  My dad loves chocolate chip cookies, and his birthday is coming up next week, so maybe I’ll whip up another batch of these just for him.  I always make chocolate chip cookies for Christmas cookie giving, since that seems to be a favorite by many.  This year, I tried this recipe instead of the one from the bag of chips.  It’s similar to that recipe, but it makes a lot more cookies.  And with this recipe, I divided the recipe in half and made regular chocolate chip cookies and then made another half of the recipe, added some cocoa powder and peanut butter chips, and made it into a chocolate peanut butter chip recipe.  Same recipe base, but by adding two more ingredients, I got another type of cookie.  Yay me!  🙂

This week’s recipe comes from The Byler Chicks Cooking cookbook.  It can be found on page 121.

chip-1

Melt in your Mouth Chocolate Chip Cookies, page 121, Mrs. Davy (Rachel) Hershberger

1 c. margarine

1 c. vegetable oil

1 c. brown sugar

1 c. sugar

1 tsp. salt

2 eggs

2 tsp. vanilla

3 tsp. cream of tartar

2 tsp. soda

5 c. flour

2 c. chocolate chips

Cream together margarine, vegetable oil, sugars and salt.  Add eggs and vanilla.  Beat all together until light and fluffy.  Add dry ingredients.  Mix well and bake at 400-450 degrees for 10 minutes.  If you bake too long, cookies will be hard.

For my cookies, I used butter instead of margarine and Stevia instead of the white sugar.  I think since I used Stevia that is why my cookies didn’t spread as much as they normally do.  I used Stevia in another cookie recipe too, and those cookies didn’t spread as nicely either.  They were still yummy, just not thin like normal.  I am not sure how much cocoa powder I added for the peanut butter version.  I just kept adding a little bit, mixing it up, adding a little bit more until they were a nice chocolate color.  I also baked them at 375 degrees for a little longer than the 10 minutes mentioned.  400-450 degrees just seemed too hot to bake cookies.

byler

I picked up a copy of this cookbook from Belmont Fabrics in Lancaster County.  I’m sure some of the tourist stops up there would have it as well.  Belmont Fabrics is located at 14 S. Belmont Road in Paradise, PA.  They are open Monday through Friday, 7:30 a.m. until 5:00 p.m. and on Saturday from 7:30 a.m. until 4:00 p.m.  Closed on Sundays.  They have an assortment of cookbooks, greeting cards, sewing notions, fabric (mostly for Amish dresses and aprons), purses, socks, pillows, baby items, and a variety of other things.  It’s a neat place to visit if up in the area.  And one of the reasons we like going in there is because we camp during the summer months, and it is a great place to get the flannel backed table cloth material for our picnic table.  They cut it just to the size we need, and it’s fairly inexpensive.

Hope you have a great week.  Here’s to a new month starting tomorrow.

Blessings…

4 thoughts on “Tasty Tuesday – Melt in your Mouth Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

