Tasty Tuesday – Sugar Cookies

Welcome to the first Tuesday in February.  This week’s recipe is for the last cookie recipe from Christmas baking.  One of the staples I bake are sugar cookies. I don’t do the cutout type cookie, because it takes too long, and I like to make a variety of cookies for the trays we give as gifts.  So I usually do the drop cookie and use lots of different sprinkles to decorate them and give them some color.  Here is the sugar cookie recipe out of the cookbook, Favorite Recipes from the Oberholtzer Family.  Really any time is a good time for sugar cookies, not just at Christmas.  And they make sprinkles for pretty much any occasion and in any color.  I’m hoping to get a small batch baked for Valentine’s Day unless I find another treat to make for the guys in the office.

Here is the recipe if you’d like to whip up a batch of sugar cookies for your honey or your kid’s classmates or as a treat for your postal worker or UPS driver.

sugar-1

Sugar Cookies, Lucy Oberholtzer, page 265

6 c. flour

1 c. butter or lard

2 tsp. baking powder

2 1/2 c. sugar

2 eggs, well beaten

1 c. sweet milk

1 tsp. baking soda

2 Tbsp. vanilla

Work flour, butter, baking powder, and sugar together like pie dough.  Add rest of the ingredients.  Bake at 350 degrees.  *This recipe is from Aunt Judith Horst.

sugar-2

I probably get 99% of my sprinkles from the Amish owned bulk food stores in Lancaster County.  They have a great selection and are a good price for a large quantity.  I think I have sprinkles in every color of the rainbow in my pantry.  A girl just never knows when she’ll need that certain color to decorate cookies or a cake.

sugar-3I think sugar cookies are one of my favorite cookies to eat too.  I love the recipes that make an abundance of them, so I have a bunch to give away and some to keep for us to nibble on.

As I mentioned in a previous blog post, I picked up my copy of this cookbook at L&L Rubber Stamps and Scrapbooking in Ephrata.  Glenwood Foods in Ephrata might carry it as well.  They have a nice selection of Amish and Mennonite cookbooks for sale.  And if you haven’t been there, it’s a nice discount grocery store to cruise around in.  Lots of bulk foods (and SPRINKLES) as well as fresh produce, deli, frozen and refrigerated items, dairy, dry goods, greeting cards, and pet items.  They are located at:  1614 Division Highway, Ephrata, PA  17522.  Their hours are Monday thru Wednesday – 8:00 a.m. until 6:00 p.m., Thursday & Friday – 8:00 a.m. until 8:30 p.m., and Saturday – 8:00 a.m. until 5:00 p.m.  They are closed on Sundays and Christian holidays.  If you are ever in the area, stop by and check them out.

ober-bk

I hope you enjoy your week.  Try to find some time to get into the kitchen and bake some cookies as a random act of kindness for someone.  It’s always nice receiving something on a day other than a holiday and when it is least expected.

sugar-4

And when you are finished baking, grab a few cookies and a glass of milk for yourself and curl up in a corner with a good book.  Speaking of good books, An Amish Home comes out today.  It contains four novellas by Amy Clipston, Beth Wiseman, Kathleen Fuller, and Ruth Reid.  I have read three of the four novellas so far, and they are wonderful stories about home, faith, and love.

Enjoy your day and put a smile on someone’s face this week that might need an extra lift.

Blessings…

2 thoughts on “Tasty Tuesday – Sugar Cookies

Leave a Reply

