Tasty Tuesday – Valentine’s Day Snack Mix

v-day-5

HAPPY VALENTINE’S DAY PEEPS! 

Today’s recipe is for a very easy to toss together snack mix that is perfect for really any holiday depending on the color of M&M’s you use.  What I like the most about this recipe is that you don’t have to melt anything to pour over the mix and let it cool.  Just mix everything together in a bowl and voila!

I found this recipe in a cookbook that I haven’t used before, but has been in my collection for a bit.  It’s called “The Best of Amish & Mennonite Cooking“.  It’s another spiral bound book which is my favorite kind.  I don’t remember where I picked up my copy, but it was somewhere in Lancaster County.

best-of-amish-menno-cooking

The title of the recipe is what caught my eye as I was flipping through the pages.  I usually make some sort of treat for the guys at work on Valentine’s Day, and this seemed to fit the bill.  A cupcake would have been nice for breakfast this morning though.  Ha!

Here is the recipe if you’d like to mix up a batch of this snack mix.

v-day-2

Valentine’s Day Snack Mix, Rosie Glick, page 22

1 (12.7 oz.) pkg. Valentine’s M&M’s

1 can whole cashews

8 oz. yogurt covered raisins

1 (3.53 oz.) pkg. dried cranberries

1 c. mini pretzels

1 c. chocolate Teddy Grahams

Combine all ingredients.

I doubled this recipe, and it filled my Tupperware Thatsa Bowl about half full.  It made nine treat bags, so that is plenty for the guys in the office, our UPS guy, our mail lady, and anyone else that I feel deserves a little treat today.

v-day-3

I used the mega M&M’s for Valentine’s Day that had little sayings on like conversation hearts do.  You could even toss in a handful of those hearts to make this mix even more festive.  I had a bag of M&M’s and M&M peanuts left over from Christmas, so I separated out the red and green ones and tossed the reds into the mix as well. Now I have lots of green ones to use for St. Patrick’s Day.  This recipe would be yummy too with the mint M&M’s and make a nice green treat for March 17th.  It is not an expensive mix to make either.  I used unsalted pretzels, since the nuts were salted.  I thought it looked pretty in the pink bowl.  And I realized while blow drying my hair this morning that I forgot to add the cranberries into the mix last night.  Heavens knows why I remembered that doing my hair, but anyway…  So there would be even more red in the mix if I had remembered those.  Now I have dried cranberries to use for something else in the near future.

I put about two handfuls in each treat bag, used a twisty tie to close the bag, tied them with red ribbon, and made a tag for each one.  It took me less than 30 minutes to whip up the mix, fill the bags, make the tags, and assemble.  It would be an easy treat for kids to make for their class as well.

v-day-4

Hope you have a Happy Valentine’s Day today.

v-day-1

Check out my other blog post today for a “Love is in the Air” giveaway.  Some great Amish fiction and Valentine’s goodies.

Blessings…

2 thoughts on “Tasty Tuesday – Valentine’s Day Snack Mix

Leave a Reply

