Tasty Tuesday – Pumpkin Muffins

p-bread-1

Welcome to this week’s Tasty Tuesday post.  Over the weekend, we celebrated the 70th birthday of a good camping buddy, Donnie.  He loves my zucchini bread, so I knew I had to make a batch or two of that as part of his gift.  With him being a St. Patrick’s Day baby and since the zucchini could represent the green on Ireland’s flag, I decided to whip up a batch of pumpkin bread to represent the orange on the flag and use the white card envelope as the white.  Yes, corny I know, but for Donnie, it fit the bill.

I chose the pumpkin muffin recipe out of the “Sharp Run School Family Favorites” cookbook.  I think this is the first time I’ve used this cookbook on my blog.  I made the recipe into loaves of bread instead of muffins though.

p-bread-2

Pumpkin Muffins, Ida Miller, page 23

4 eggs

2 c. sugar

16 oz. pumpkins

1 1/2 c. oil

3 c. Gold Medal flour

2 tsp. soda

2 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. cinnamon

1 tsp. salt

2 c. chocolate chips

Beat eggs, sugar, pumpkin, and oil until smooth.  Combine flour, baking powder, soda, cinnamon, and salt.  Add to pumpkin mixture and mix well.  Fold in chocolate chips.  Fill muffin cups 3/4 full.  Bake at 350 degrees for 16-20 minutes.

For my bread, this recipe made three loaves.  I filled each loaf tin about 1/2 full or so and then baked them for about an hour.

p-bread-3

Since Donnie is a St. Patrick’s Day baby, at our last shoebox swap, we made a St. Patrick’s Day card using a Darice clover embossing folder and then heart punch outs to make the shamrocks.  Thanks Hope for the great card idea.  Instead of stamping St. Patrick’s Day, I stamped Happy Birthday, since I knew I wanted to use this for his card.  One less card I’d need to make closer to his birthday!  At home, I die cut the “70” in gold glitter paper and attached it to the card.  I thought it turned out pretty cute.

p-bread-4We had a great time Saturday evening celebrating his 70th birthday.  Lot of family and friends gathered to celebrate his big day with yummy food prepared by his wife.

Some of you are probably thinking it’s a little crazy to make something with pumpkin at this time of year.  In our house, I make pumpkin stuff all year long.  I always have canned pumpkin in our pantry either for breads or a yummy pie.

Hope you have a great week and that spring has sprung in your neck of the woods.  Going to be in the 60’s today here – yay!

Blessings…

3 thoughts on “Tasty Tuesday – Pumpkin Muffins

  1. Looks yummy! I love pumpkin year around ! I cut it up and cook it down then freeze so I can make bread, muffins and pumpkin rolls all year around. Beautiful card!

    Like

Leave a Reply

