Tasty Tuesday – Oven-Barbecued Pork Chops

Happy Tuesday!  Spring has sprung!  Warmer weather and my tulips are blooming.  So nice to add a little more color to the gardens.  This week’s recipe comes from the “Sharp Run School Family Favorites” cookbook.  I picked up this cookbook when I was out in Ohio Amish Country back in August.  I still need to download all the pictures from that trip to share with you.  One of these months I’ll get to that…sigh…  I got this cookbook from Hershberger’s Farm and Bakery in Millersburg, OH.  Mom and I stopped there, because I had remembered from our trip there several years ago that they had the best buttermilk cookies.  So I got this cookbook, a pack of those yummy cookies, and some fry pies.  And something else happened there, but I need the pictures downloaded to document that, right Mom?  I have never found a recipe in any of my Amish cookbooks for these cookies and have never seen them for sale in Lancaster County in all my travels except this past Saturday.  My hubby played disc golf at D.F. Buchmiller County Park in Lancaster (near Willow Valley), so I went to Darrenkamp’s to do a little shopping.  Lo and behold, I found buttermilk cookies made by Wendy Jo.  I was skeptical that they’d taste just as good, but oh my word!  They tasted just like the ones in Ohio.  So yummy!  I’m eating them sparingly, so they last a bit.  But at least Darrenkamp’s is much closer than traveling to Ohio for these cookies…then again, I love me a road trip.

Okay, I better get back on track for this week’s recipe…I fixed Oven-Barbecued Pork Chops this past week.  They were yummy, and the sauce was delicious.  Here’s the recipe if you’d like to bake a pan of them.

bbqpc-1

Oven-Barbecued Pork Chops, Martha Miller, page 66, “Sharp Run School Family Favorites”

10-12 pork chops

1 Tbsp. Worcestershire sauce

2 Tbsp. vinegar

2 tsp. brown sugar

1/2 tsp. chili powder

1/2 tsp. paprika

3/4 c. catsup

1/3 c. hot water

Place chops in a heavy cast-iron skillet.  Combine all remaining ingredients and pour over chops.  Bake, uncovered, at 375 degrees for 1 hour.

bbqpc-4

We enjoyed this recipe, and I’ll definitely fix them again.  I always seem to have to have apple sauce when I eat pork for some reason, so I opened up a jar of homemade apple sauce from Amish Country to complement the dish.

bbqpc-3

Hope you all have a truly blessed Easter and enjoy some family time and yummy food.  Mom and I are fixing dinner, and I think I narrowed down the menu yesterday.  I love planning big meals.

Enjoy your day!

Blessings…

2 thoughts on “Tasty Tuesday – Oven-Barbecued Pork Chops

Leave a Reply

