Tasty Tuesday – Glazed Baby Carrots

Welcome to this week’s Tasty Tuesday.  I hope you all had a nice Easter.  We sure had a feast on the table.  Mom and I prepared the meal, and I chose this week’s recipe as one of the side dishes.

ca-3

The only thing missing from the table picture are the deviled eggs.  I think I snapped this picture, and then Mom remembered they were in the frig.  At least we remembered them this year.  One year, we remembered them after dinner was finished.  I even fixed the broccoli/corn casserole that I shared the recipe for a couple weeks ago.  It’s in the bottom right of the picture, and everyone enjoyed it.

This week’s recipe, Glazed Baby Carrots, comes out of The Busy Mother’s Cookbook.  I don’t eat carrots unless they are raw with dip or mixed with other veggies in either a soup or pot pie, so I knew I wouldn’t eat this dish.  And I wasn’t sure anyone else would with the ingredients used, but I figured I’d give it a shot.

ca-2

Glazed Baby Carrots, Esther, The Busy Mother’s Cookbook, page 102

1 (1 oz.) pkg. Hidden Valley Original Ranch dressing mix

1/4 c. butter

1/4 c. light brown sugar

1 (16 oz.) pkg. ready to eat peeled baby carrots (cooked, boiled or steamed)

Melt butter and sugar in a large skillet.  Add carrots and dressing mix.  Stir well.  Cook over medium heat until hot and glazed, about 5 minutes.  Yield:  4-6 servings.

ca-1

I used two cans of carrots (drained) instead of a pack of baby carrots, and they worked just as well.  I also used a saucepan instead of a skillet.  Mom, Dad, and Danny said they were really tasty, so that was good.  I just couldn’t imagine mixing the Ranch dressing mix with the sugary glaze, but it worked for a tasty side dish.

The Busy Mother’s Cookbook is available at a lot of locations throughout Lancaster County.  I know Gordonville Book Store has some in stock.  I saw them while there on Thursday.  Also, Belmont Fabrics has them for sale.

busy moms

Hope you have a good week and don’t have too much Easter candy lying around.  Hubby has a couple bags of just black jelly beans which he knows are safe from me.  I don’t like black jelly beans.  Give me all of the other colors though, and I’m a happy girl.  Enjoy your Tuesday.

Blessings…

One thought on “Tasty Tuesday – Glazed Baby Carrots

Leave a Reply

