Tasty Tuesday – Quick and Easy Meatloaf

Happy Tuesday!  This week’s recipe is for a quick and easy meatloaf out of “The Byler Chicks Cooking” book.  It was very easy to make and had a different consistency while mixing it up than my normal meatloaf I make.  I don’t put milk or oatmeal in my meatloaf, so that was new to me.  The milk make the consistency more runny and not as firm to shape into a loaf.  Since I used two pounds of ground turkey, it would not fit into a loaf pan as called for, so I opted for an oval glass dish that I normally bake my meatloaf in.  Since it wouldn’t stay in a loaf shape this way, I had to rig some aluminum foil along the side of the dish to keep the meatloaf from spreading.  It’s always something in the kitchen.  Not the prettiest picture of the dish, but it was yummy.

meatloaf-2

Here’s the recipe if you’d like to try this version of a meatloaf for dinner.

Quick and Easy Meatloaf, The Bylers Chicks Cooking, Mrs. Marvin (Susan) Glick, page 69

1 1/2 lb. ground beef

3/4 c. oatmeal

1/4 c. chopped onions

1 1/2 tsp. salt

1/4 tsp. pepper

1 egg, beaten

3/4 c. milk

Sauce:

1/3 c. ketchup

2 Tbsp. brown sugar

1 Tbsp. mustard

Worcestershire sauce, optional

Heat oven to 350 degrees.  For meatloaf, combine all ingredients.  Mix thoroughly.  Pack firmly into loaf pan 8″x8″.  Combine all ingredients for sauce and pour over meatloaf.  Bake in preheated oven about 1 hour.  Let set 5 minutes before slicing.

meatloaf-3

I doubled the sauce for this recipe, and it still wasn’t enough sauce for my hubby.  He likes a lot of sauce on his meatloaf, so when we had the leftovers for dinner a few days later, I made another doubled batch of sauce.  That did the trick for him.  I did add the Worcestershire sauce to the meatloaf sauce for added flavor.  It was really good and added to the flavor of the meatloaf.

This weekend is Memorial Day weekend – where did the first part of the year go?  Hope you keep in mind what Memorial Day is really all about – not the start of summer as a lot of people think, but honoring the memories of those who sacrificed their lives for our freedom.  There will be parades and services to remember those who have fallen protecting our country.  And there will be cookouts and pools opening for the season.  It will be on the chilly and wet side for our weekend here.

Hope you have a good week!

Blessings…

 

5 thoughts on “Tasty Tuesday – Quick and Easy Meatloaf

  1. Hmm, with the issues you had, not sure I want to try it. I have a hare enough time just making plain meatloaf. Have a beautiful week-end Cindy and if going to Amish Country, know I wish I was going too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

