Tasty Tuesday – Strawberry Tapioca

Welcome to this week’s Tasty Tuesday’s strawberry recipe – Strawberry Tapioca.  I found this recipe in the Seasonal Garden Cooking and Family Favorites cookbook.  It wasn’t hard to make at all, but I think I would have enjoyed it more using pearl tapioca instead of the minute kind.  But I wanted to stick to the recipe, so minute is was.

tap-1

Here’s the recipe if you’d like to make a batch to enjoy.

Strawberry Tapioca, Salome, Seasonal Garden Cooking & Family Favorites, page 61

2 qt. water

1 c. minute tapioca

1 c. sugar

6 oz. strawberry jello

2 1/2 c. strawberries

1 c. whipped cream

Bring water to a boil.  Add tapioca and boil 10 minutes or until tapioca is clear.  Add sugar and jello.  Chill and let set, then add strawberries and cream just before serving.

For the whipped cream, I chilled my metal mixing bowl and whisk in the freezer for 15 minutes.  Then added the heavy whipping cream and 1 tablespoon of 10x sugar to the bowl and let my Kitchen Aid mixer do the rest.  Just keep an eye on it – don’t be like me cutting up the strawberries and not paying attention to the mixer.  Batch two came out much better with me constantly watching it to form peaks.

tap-2

For the whipped cream on top of the tapioca, I just used Redi-Whip, since I had used all my heavy cream on my two batches of whipped cream for the tapioca.  Live and learn!

If I would make this again, I’d most likely use the large pearl tapioca.  To me, the minute type just doesn’t seem like tapioca.  This seemed more jello like than I would like my tapioca to be.  It was still good, but I’d tweak it some.  Maybe add more whipped cream too.

tap-3

Let me know if you try out this recipe.  It’s a great way to use up some of those fresh strawberries.

Next week will be the last strawberry recipe for the month.  The big decision is what will I fix…

Have a great week!

Blessings…

One thought on “Tasty Tuesday – Strawberry Tapioca

Leave a Reply

