Tasty Tuesday – Last Week’s Giveaway Winner & Peach Crisp

Welcome to this week’s Tasty Tuesday post.  First, I want to congratulate Jayne Noble for being last week’s giveaway winner.  Jayne, please send me your address, so I can get your goodies in the mail.

Over the last three months, our house has been an appliance nightmare.  First the hot water heater went up (thankfully hubby could replace it himself even with it being his first attempt at dealing with natural gas), then the microwave, then our washing machine, and now our oven (the oven won’t heat up, but the burners still work).  And you all know how much I use our oven, but thankfully since it’s summertime and hot & humid, I usually limit the use of it, so I’m not missing it too much at the moment.  Our summertime meals usually consist of light stuff that I can either just take out of the frig or heat up on the stove.  And the sweet corn right now is absolutely delicious.  That was lunch on Saturday and dinner on Sunday with the addition of some yummy watermelon.  I love easy meals like that.

Well on Saturday, hubby picked up some really large and juicy peaches, and I wanted to make either a cobbler or crisp.  Not having an oven put a damper on that – well at least I thought it did.  Our camping friends, Bonnie and Donnie, gave us a Coleman oven run by propane when they stopped camping, so hubby said we could bake in it.  I am not a fan of propane, but I figured we could give it a shot.  We’ve only used the oven once while actually camping, and that was only to heat up leftovers.  It did that well, so we figured we’d see how it did in the baking department.  Hubby set it up outside while I prepared the peach crisp.

So here’s our adventure on making peach crisp in a camping oven…

crisp-1

This is what the oven looks like.  We had to make sure an 8×8 baking pan would first fit in it.  Thankfully it did.  Next hubby hooked up the propane and started to preheat the oven.

crisp-3

Here’s my baker making sure the oven stays around 350 degrees…

crisp-4

While he was busy taking care of the oven, I was busy in the kitchen peeling and slicing peaches, and putting the crisp together.

crisp-5

Since it was a beautiful day outside, we had the windows open.  Once he put the crisp into the oven and it had been baking for about 15 minutes, I could smell the wonderful aroma through the kitchen window.  We kept peeking inside to make sure the crisp wasn’t getting too brown.  It looked beautiful…

crisp-2

As you can see, there isn’t much room in the oven, so I wasn’t sure if it would bake evenly, but this little oven sure surprised me.  It turned out perfect.

crisp-7

The recipe came out of the cookbook, “Seasonal Garden Cooking and Family Favorites”.  I love this cookbook, because the first half of the book has recipes by produce item – corn, peaches, pears, tomatoes, cranberries, apples, strawberries, etc.

Here is the recipe for the peach crisp if you’d like to make a pan for yourself to enjoy…

Peach Crisp, page 139, Anna Mary, “Seasonal Garden Cooking and Family Favorites”

5-6 peaches

3/4 c. sugar

1 c. flour

1 egg, beaten

1 tsp. baking powder

1/4 tsp. salt

1/3 c. butter, melted

Peel peaches and slice into greased 9 x 9 pan.  Mix remaining ingredients, except butter.  Sprinkle crumbs over peaches, then pour butter on top.  Bake 30 minutes at 350 degrees.

I only used three peaches, since the ones we had were almost softball size. I had never seen peaches that large before.  I layered the sliced peaches three rows high, and then I sprinkled less than a teaspoon of sugar on top of the peaches before putting the crumbs on top.  I mixed up the crumb mixture a little too much, so it was more like a cobbler topping than crumbs, but figured it would work.  And boy did it ever!  This peach crisp was so delicious that I even had a small second helping.  Oh my!  My mouth is watering just thinking about it.

crisp-6

We topped it with some cool whip.  Ice cream would be great on it as well, but unfortunately we didn’t have any in the freezer.

This recipe is definitely a keeper, and since I have about six more monster sized peaches in the frig, I’ll probably be making this again soon.  I’m sure hubby won’t have a problem setting up our little camping oven outside if he gets rewarded with this.

Hope you have a great week.  Again, congratulations to Jayne for winning last week’s giveaway.

Blessings…

2 thoughts on “Tasty Tuesday – Last Week’s Giveaway Winner & Peach Crisp

  1. Congratulation to Jayne, a person with a great name. Not a fuzzy fruit fan but it sounds good with maybe another fruit! We used to use an old green Coleman stove and my mom could cook up a storm on that thing. We camped all the time as kids. You have had a rough summer Cindy and I will pray for an improved fall!

    Like

Leave a Reply

